The ExtraHourz platform connects businesses with hourly workers on an on-demand or ongoing basis. A smart job matching platform incorporating AI assisted application and automatic interview scheduling to enhance modern day hiring experience

Minimum Wage by State 2022 - The Ultimate Guide

Connie Kolakowski | Jan 28, 2022

The hourly minimum wage changes per year across states in the U.S. In 2022, 25 states will increase their minimum wage while 20 states will continue to have minimum wages that equal the federal minimum wage rate of $7.25. The remaining 5 states have minimum wages above the federal minimum wage rate, but will not experience an increase this year.

This comprehensive list includes your ultimate guide for all minimum wage updates by state in 2022. The rates displayed in this article reflect general information for the minimum wage in each state and should not be used as legal or professional advice. 

In order to stay compliant with specific city minimum wage ordinances, tipped wages, and other special rules and circumstances, please review the minimum wage laws where your business operates. We’ve provided a link to your state’s laws within each state-specific section, after the map below.

 

Alabama

Alabama does not have a state minimum wage, hence employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must adhere to the current federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Alabama’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Alaska

Alaska’s state minimum wage will remain unchanged at $10.34 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $10.34

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Alaska’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Arizona

Effective January 1, 2022, Arizona’s state minimum wage will increase by $0.65 from $12.15 to $12.80 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $12.80

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $0.65

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Arizona’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Arkansas

Arkansas’ minimum wage will remain unchanged at $11.00 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $11.00

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Arkansas’ minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

California

As of January 1, 2022, California’s minimum wage will increase by $1.00. For employers with 25 or fewer employees, the minimum wage will increase to $14.00 per hour. For employers with 26 or more employees, the minimum wage will increase to $15.00 per hour.

Minimum wage for employers with 25 or fewer employees 2022: $14.00

Minimum wage for employers with 26 or more employees 2022: $15.00

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $1.00

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about California’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Colorado

Effective January 1, 2022, Colorado’s minimum wage will rise $0.24 from $12.32 to $12.56 per hour.


Minimum wage 2022:
$12.56

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $0.24

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Colorado’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Connecticut

Beginning July 1, 2022, Connecticut will increase its minimum wage by $1.00 from $13.00 to $14.00 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $14.00

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $1.00

Effective date: July 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Connecticut’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Delaware

Effective January 1, 2022, Delaware’s minimum wage will increase by $1.25 from $9.25 to $10.50 per hour. 

Minimum wage 2022: $10.50

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $1.25

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Delaware’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Florida

Beginning September 30, 2022, Florida will increase their minimum wage by $1.00 from $10.00 to $11.00 per hour. Florida will gradually increase their hourly minimum wage rate by $1.00 each year until it reaches $15.00 on September 30, 2026.

Minimum wage 2022: $11.00

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $1.00

Effective date: September 30, 2022

Review more detailed information about Florida’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Georgia

Georgia’s minimum wage will remain the same at $5.15 per hour for employers with 6 or more employees. Employers who are subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must adhere to the federal hourly minimum wage of $7.25.

Basic Minimum wage 2022: $5.15

Minimum wage for employers subject to Fair Labor Standards Act: $7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Georgia’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Hawaii

Hawaii’s minimum wage will remain unchanged at $10.10 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $10.10

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Hawaii’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Idaho

Idaho’s minimum wage will remain unchanged at $7.25 per hour.


Minimum wage 2022:
$7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Idaho’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Illinois

Effective January 1, 2022, Illinois’ minimum wage will increase by $1.00 from $11.00 to $12.00 per hour. The hourly minimum wage for tipped employees will rise to $7.20 and $9.25 for youth under 18 years of age who work less than 650 hours per calendar year.

Minimum wage 2022: $12.00

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $1.00

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Illinois’ minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Indiana

Indiana’s minimum wage will remain unchanged at $7.25 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Indiana’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Iowa

Iowa’s minimum wage will remain unchanged at $7.25 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Iowa’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Kansas

Kansas’s minimum wage will remain unchanged at $7.25 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Kansas’ minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Kentucky

Kentucky’s minimum wage will remain unchanged at $7.25 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Kentucky’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Louisiana 

Louisiana does not have a state minimum wage, hence employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must adhere to the current federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Louisiana’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Maine

Effective January 1, 2022, Maine’s minimum wage will increase by $0.60 from $12.15 to $12.75 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $12.75

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $0.60

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Maine’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Maryland

Effective January 1, 2022, Maryland’s minimum wage will increase by $0.75 to $12.50 per hour for employers with over 15 employees. Maryland’s hourly minimum wage will gradually increase until it reaches $15.00 on January 1, 2025.

Minimum wage for employers with 14 or fewer employees 2022: $12.50

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $0.75

Minimum wage for employers with 15 or more employees 2022: $12.20

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $0.60

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Maryland’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Massachusetts

Effective January 1, 2022, Massachusetts will increase their minimum wage by $0.75 from $13.50 to $14.25 per hour. The hourly minimum wage for tipped employees is $6.15 and will gradually increase until it reaches $6.75 in January 2023.

Minimum wage 2022: $14.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $0.75

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Massachusetts’ minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Michigan

Effective January 1, 2022, Michigan’s minimum wage will increase by $0.22 from $9.65 to $9.87 per hour. Tipped employees' hourly minimum wage rate will increase to $3.75.

Minimum wage 2022: $9.87

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $0.22

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Michigan’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here. 

Minnesota

Effective January 1, 2022, Minnesota will increase its minimum wage by $0.25 from $10.08 to $10.33 per hour for large employers. The hourly minimum wage for small employers will increase to $8.42. Employees under 18 will also receive an hourly minimum wage of $8.42.

Minimum wage 2022: $10.33

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $0.25

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Minnesota’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Mississippi

Mississippi does not have a state minimum wage, hence employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must adhere to the current federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Mississippi’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Missouri

Effective January 1, 2022, Missouri’s minimum wage will increase by $0.85 from $10.30 to $11.15 per hour. The hourly minimum wage will continue to increase by $0.85 each year until it reaches $12.00 on January 1, 2023.

Minimum wage 2022: $11.15

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $0.85

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Missouri’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Montana

Effective January 1, 2022, Montana’s minimum wage will increase by $0.45 from $8.75 to $9.20 per hour. A business that is not covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act with a gross annual sales of $110,000 or less may pay an hourly wage of $4.00. However, if an individual employee produces or moves goods through different states or is otherwise covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act, the employee must be paid Montana’s minimum wage or greater.

Minimum wage 2022: $9.20

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $0.45

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Montana’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Nebraska

Nebraska’s minimum wage will remain unchanged at $9.00 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $9.00

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Nebraska’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Nevada

Beginning July 1, 2022, Nevada’s minimum wage will increase by $0.75. The hourly minimum wage will rise to $9.50 for lower-tier employees and $10.50 for higher-tier employees.

Minimum wage for lower-tier employees 2022: $9.50

Minimum wage for higher tier employees 2022: $10.50

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $0.75

Effective date: July 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Nevada’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

New Hampshire

New Hampshire’s minimum wage will remain unchanged at $7.25 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about New Hampshire’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

New Jersey

Effective January 1, 2022, New Jersey’s minimum wage will increase by $1.00 from $12.00 to $13.00 per hour for most employers. For seasonal employers and those with fewer than 6 employees, the hourly minimum wage will rise to $11.90.

Minimum wage 2022: $13.00

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $1.00

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about New Jersey’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

New Mexico

Effective January 1, 2022, New Mexico’s minimum wage will increase by $1.00 from $10.50 to $11.50 per hour. Tipped employees will receive a minimum wage of $2.80 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $11.50

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $1.00

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about New Mexico’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

New York

Effective December 31, 2021, New York’s minimum wage will increase by $0.70 from $12.50 to $13.20 per hour. However, the hourly minimum wage in New York City, Long Island and Westchester is set at $15.00.

Minimum wage 2022: $13.20

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $0.70

Effective date: December 31, 2021

Review more detailed information about New York’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

North Carolina

North Carolina’s minimum wage will remain unchanged at $7.25 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about North Carolina’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

North Dakota

North Dakota’s minimum wage will remain unchanged at $7.25 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about North Dakota’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Ohio

Effective January 1, 2022, Ohio’s minimum wage will increase by $0.50 from $8.80 to $9.30 per hour for businesses with annual gross receipts of $342,000 or more. Employers with annual gross receipts less than $342,000 are subject to an hourly minimum wage of $7.25.

Minimum wage 2022: $9.30

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $0.50

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Ohio’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Oklahoma

Oklahoma’s minimum wage will remain unchanged at $7.25 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Oklahoma’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Oregon

Beginning July 1, 2022, Oregon’s standard minimum wage will increase to $13.50. The minimum hourly wage for employers in the Portland metro area will rise to $14.75 and to $12.50 for employers in nonurban counties.

Standard minimum wage 2022: $13.50

Minimum wage for employers in the Portland metro 2022: $14.75

Minimum wage for employers in nonurban counties 2022: $12.50

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $0.75 for standard and portland metro; $0.50 for nonurban counties

Effective date: July 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Oregon’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania’s minimum wage will remain unchanged at $7.25 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Pennsylvania’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Rhode Island

Effective January 1, 2022, Rhode Island’s minimum wage will increase by $0.75 from $11.50 to $12.25 per hour. The hourly minimum wage will gradually increase until it reaches $15 on January 1, 2025.

Minimum wage 2022: $12.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $0.75

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Rhode Island’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

South Carolina

South Carolina does not have a state minimum wage, hence employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must adhere to the current federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about South Carolina’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

South Dakota

Effective January 1, 2022, South Dakota’s minimum wage will increase by $0.50 from $9.45 to $9.95 per hour. The hourly minimum wage for tipped employees shall be no less than $4.975.

Minimum wage 2022: $9.95

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $0.50

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about South Dakota’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Tennessee

Tennessee does not have a state minimum wage, hence employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must adhere to the current federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Tennessee’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Texas

Texas’ minimum wage will remain unchanged at $7.25 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

 

Review more detailed information about Texas’ minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Utah

Utah’s minimum wage will remain unchanged at $7.25 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

Minimum wage increase from previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Utah’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Vermont

Effective January 1, 2022, Vermont’s minimum wage will increase by $0.80 from $11.75 to $12.55 per hour. The basic wage rate for tipped employees will rise to $6.28 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $12.55

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $0.80

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Vermont’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Virginia

Effective January 1, 2022, Virginia’s minimum wage will increase by $1.50 from $9.50 to $11.00 per hour. Currently, Virginia’s hourly minimum wage is scheduled to increase gradually until it reaches $15.00 on January 1, 2027.

Minimum wage 2022: $11.00

Minimum wage increase from previous year: $1.50

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Virginia’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Washington

Effective January 1, 2022, Washington’s minimum wage will increase by $0.80 from $13.69 to $14.49 per hour. Employees of 14 or 15 years of age may receive an hourly wage equal to 85% of the adult minimum wage, or $12.32 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $14.49

A minimum wage increase from the previous year: $0.80

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Washington’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

West Virginia

West Virginia's minimum wage will remain unchanged at $8.75 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $8.75

A minimum wage increase from the previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about West Virginia’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Wisconsin

Wisconsin’s minimum wage will remain unchanged at $7.25 per hour.

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

A minimum wage increase from the previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Wisconsin’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Wyoming

Wyoming’s minimum wage will remain at $5.15 per hour; however, employers who are subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must adhere to the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.

 

Minimum wage 2022: $7.25

A minimum wage increase from the previous year: no change

Effective date: January 1, 2022

Review more detailed information about Wyoming’s minimum wage laws in 2022 here.

Labor Law Posters

As per the Fair Labor Standards Act, it is mandatory for all employers to display specific state and federal labor law posters in a prominent area where they are easily visible and accessible to employees of the business. These posters are to inform employees of workers’ rights, labor laws, and minimum wage where their workplace operates. Failure to display these posters may result in serious fines.

To order the necessary labor law posters for display in your business, visit the Labor Law Center’s website for posters that meet mandatory Federal, State, and OSHA requirements.